Contact Us

Metallica Unleash Footage From Day One of 30th Anniversary Celebration

Facebook: Metallica

Metallica‘s 30th year is about to come to a close with a swarm of attention having followed them the entire way. Metallica celebrated the milestone with a week-long celebration in San Francisco, Calif., the first day of which is now available for your viewing pleasure. It’s 27-minutes, but totally worth your time.

We recently reported on day one of the week-long affair, which was much more than just a series of rocking musical evenings with fans swaying to Metallica’s beat. Metal’s finest musicians such as Ozzy Osbourne and Dave Mustaine joined the 30-year legends throughout the celebration, but on day one of the tribute, former Metallica bassist Jason Newsted shook off the past and joined the band on stage.

“The overall feel of the concert was very informal,” wrote Jim Harrington of the Oakland Tribune. More like a bar band (albeit, an unusually talented one) performing before family and friends than that of a multi-platinum act playing for salivating fans. In that sense, it felt so drastically different from the well-rehearsed product one gets with Metallica’s regular arena show.

Harrington continued, “The band members took long breaks between many songs, casually talked among themselves and with the audience, and invited several guests onstage — including one fan, who played guitar on ‘Wherever I May Roam’, and former Metallica bassist Jason Newsted.”

Metallica’s Setlist From Day One

01. The Call Of Ktulu
02. No Remorse (full version)
03. The Shortest Straw
04. Leper Messiah
05. The Day That Never Comes
06. Carpe Diem Baby (first time performed live)
07. Hate Train (previously unreleased song from “Death Magnetic” sessions)
08. Please Don’t Judas Me (acoustic; Nazareth cover)
09. Wherever I May Roam (with fan-club member John Dent)
10. Sad But True (with John Marshall)
11. (Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth (impromptu jam by Robert Trujillo)
12. No Leaf Clover (with Apocalyptica)
13. One (with Apocalyptica)
14. Harvester Of Sorrow (with Jason Newsted)
15. Damage, Inc. (with Jason Newsted)
16. Motorcycle Man (with Biff Byford)
17. The Prince (with Sean Harris, Brian Tatler)
18. It’s Electric (with Sean Harris, Brian Tatler)
19. Helpess (with Sean Harris, Brian Tatler)
20. Am I Evil? (with Sean Harris, Brian Tatler)
21. Seek & Destroy (with everyone)

Watch the 27-Minute Recap of Metallica’s 30th Anniversary Celebration – Day One

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Best of Ultimate Metallica

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Ultimate Metallica quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!